Image
Literacy services volunteer

Literacy Services helps people develop their literacy, numeracy, speaking and listening skills.

 If you are interested in applying for a place in an upcoming training course, refer to the Prospective Literacy Volunteer Handbook[344KB] and submit your expression of interest. Ensure that you include any qualifications, experience and recency of practice as there is a selection process.

The next course will start on Monday 6 February 2023 at Kawana Library. Applications close Monday 21 November 2022.

Week Date
Course unit
Week 1 Monday 6 February
9:30 am – 12:30 pm
Introduction to Literacy Volunteering
Week 2
Monday 13 February
9:30 am – 12:30 pm
Literacy Resources (session 1)
Week 3
 Monday 20 February
9:30 am – 12:30 pm
 Reading (session 1)
Week 4
 Monday 27 February
9:30 am – 12:30 pm
 Reading (session 2)
Week 5
 Monday 6 March
9:30 am – 12:30 pm
 Writing (session 1)
Week 6
 Monday 13 March
9:30 am – 12:30 pm
 Writing (session 2)
Week 7
 Monday 20 March
9:30 am – 12:30 pm
 Listening and Speaking
Week 8
 Monday 27 March 2022
9:30 am – 12:30 pm
 Literacy Resources (session 2)
Week 9
 Monday 3 April
9:30 am – 12:30 pm
 Evaluation of Literacy Volunteering

 

For more information, visit the Literacy Services section, or email literacy.services@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au.

Typical duties

Literacy Volunteer duties include:

Requirements

It is important to be tolerant, patient, flexible and skilful at listening. It is ideal if Literacy Volunteers have a sense of humour and good language skills.

To become a Literacy Volunteer you need:

  • good literacy and communication skills
  • empathy for people with limited literacy ability
  • reliability and availability
  • integrity and the ability to maintain confidentiality.

Why you should volunteer at Sunshine Coast Libraries – from library volunteer Warren