Library Lovers with Maya Linnell

Join author Maya Linnell in conversation with bestselling author Jane Harper, VFX artist, illustrator and children's writer Richard Pritchard and Brisbane City Libraries' Nadia Ruttley.

Date and time  Zoom link 
Wednesday 19 October, 6pm (AEST)
Library Lovers with Maya Linnell 

Register your interest to attend.

Bestselling author Jane Harper

Jane Harper is author of the international bestsellers The Dry, Force of Nature, The Lost Man and The Survivors. Her books are published in forty territories worldwide, and The Dry has been adapted into a major motion picture starring Eric Bana. Jane has won numerous top awards including the Australian Book Industry Awards Book of the Year, the Australian Indie Awards Book of the Year, the CWA Gold Dagger Award for Best Crime Novel, and the British Book Awards Crime and Thriller Book of the Year. Jane worked as a print journalist for thirteen years both in Australia and the UK, and now lives in Melbourne with her husband, two children, and two cats.

Exiles by Jane Harper

At a busy festival site on a warm spring night, a baby lies alone in her pram, her mother vanishing into the crowds.
A year on, Kim Gillespie's absence casts a long shadow as her friends and loved ones gather deep in the heart of South Australian wine country to welcome a new addition to the family.

Joining the celebrations is federal investigator Aaron Falk. But as he soaks up life in the lush valley, he begins to suspect this tight-knit group may be more fractured than it seems. Between Falk's closest friend, a missing mother, and a woman he's drawn to, dark questions linger as long-ago truths begin to emerge.

VFX artist, illustrator and children's writer Richard Pritchard

With over 15 years of experience Richard works as a VFX Artist specializing in concept art, visual development, art direction, animation, texturing, modelling and 3d sculpting for commercials, animated features and live-action films. He has designed and crafted 3d characters and environments for high-end commercials, animated films and features films including; Happy Feet 1 & 2, The Great Gatsby, Prometheus and Mad Max: Fury Road.

Richard has worked in many of Australia’s most prestigious animation studios including Sydney’s Animal Logic. He also worked on and with George Miller on various films for six years in which he honed and continues to work on his story and filmmaking craft.

Richard wrote his first Illustrated chapter book for kids with Co-creator Jordan Gould called Wylah: The Last Koorie Warrior.

'Wylah the Koorie Warrior' by Richard Pritchard and Jordan Gould

Meet Wylah: warrior, hero and friend. Her adventures have been 40,000 years in the making!

Wylah is brave, clever and strong-willed, and all her best friends are giant megafauna animals. But she isn't a warrior. Not yet, anyway. Then comes the day when her family is stolen by the dragon army, and her life is forever changed. She must find the courage to set out on a journey to save them. What will it take for Wylah to become a warrior, like her Grandmother before her? Introducing an unforgettable cast of characters, Wylah The Koorie Warrior is a heart-stopping and imaginative adventure, inspired by First Nations history and grounded in culture.

Brisbane City Libraries' Nadia Ruttley

Nadia Ruttley has been a librarian for 14 years and is currently the Coordinator Reading for Brisbane Libraries. She oversees author talks, early literacy for children, reading clubs, book clubs and reader’s advisory for 33 libraries and often boasts that she has the best job in the world.