The Miles Franklin Literary Award | The 2021 Shortlist

The Miles Franklin Literary Award was first presented in 1957 and is Australia’s most prestigious literature prize. The annual award was established through the will of Miles Franklin, the author of My Brilliant Career.

Each of the shortlisted authors receive $5,000 from the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund. The 2021 winner is acclaimed Tasmanian author Amanda Lohrey for her novel The Labyrinth. She receives $60,000 in prize money for her novel judged as being ‘of the highest literary merit’ and which presents ‘Australian life in any of its phases’.

The 2021 Miles Franklin shortlist is:

  • Amnesty by Aravind Adiga
  • The Rain Heron by Robbie Arnott
  • At the Edge of the Solid World by Daniel Davis Wood
  • The Labyrinth by Amanda Lohrey
  • Lucky’s by Andrew Pippos
  • The Inland Sea by Madeleine Watts

Libraries have titles from the Miles Franklin shortlist and longlist. Support our Aussie authors and enjoy one of these award nominated reads.

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2021 Shortlist Announcement | CopyrightAgency


Enjoy these nominated authors eBooks:


Enjoy these literary eMagazines:

Get started using free eMagazines online or download the Libby app. Select Sunshine Coast Libraries and enter your member number and password.


Listen to a shortlisted eAudiobooks:

To get started, download the BorrowBox and Libby apps, select Sunshine Coast Libraries and enter your member number and password.

On the web

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2020 Winner Announcement

Love the program? Complete the online survey.